Hole feuds

Despite being huge and fairly middle class and expensive, our Sainsburys is shite for veggie food. It’s got a couple of Linda McCartney efforts, the usual Quorn bits and bobs and some silken tofu, but that’s it. To broaden my horizons I decided I had to take the plunge and go to Wholefoods.

Swordfish and tapenade on toast

I’ve only been twice before, it’s a bit of a crazy place. Insanely expensive and the staff stop stacking the shelves to ask how you are if you show the slightest signs of hesitation, which I find a bit creepy. I managed to avoid most of the super pricey items (£5 for taramasalata!) be came home with tempeh, seitan, smoked tofu and loads of posh snacky things like lemon and poppyseed white chocolate. Spent a fortune though, I won’t be back in a hurry.

The pic above shows today’s Wholefoods feastage, pretty darned tasty and healthy to boot! Swordfish was strangely cheap so I bought a steak and cooked it on a grillpan alongside some fresh tapenade I bought in a tub and Asda tigerbread toast. Tapenade is basically all my favourite foods mushed together, lovely stuff.

I decided to eat outside in the garden for a change, little realising that wasps are partial to posh nosh too. Between the flying buggers attacking me and a nearby cat sniffing about I only lasted 5 minutes, that’s wussy vegetarians for you.

Leave a Reply

